Tag: davidstown league

Cathal Glackin wins Davidstown League

Congratulations to GoreyCC’s Cathal Glackin on topping the final league table in Slaney Cycling Club‘s A4 league. Cathal took 6th place in Wednesday’s finale adding a further 3pts to his total to cement the win. A great result also for Gorey’s Frank O’Brien on the night, racing in the O’50 category. The group held a consistent time gap back to A4’s all the way to the finish, with Frank eventually taking 2nd place. A special mention also to Gorey’s Susie Carroll Christian on taking the spoils in the ladies category in her first competitive outing. Thanks to all in SlaneyCC and the marshals over the 5 weeks for a well run and exciting league and to Sean Rowe for the great photos.

13221221_10209988520214136_1990327837359941420_o 13227496_10209988539774625_8750947710282215933_o 13243779_10209988583215711_3425939131011226338_o IMG_7556 IMG_7560

GoreyCC take the spoils at Slipstream league week 4

It was another great week for GoreyCC in the Wexford league with wins on Wednesday and Thursday.

First up was Tom Purcell, winning the Novice race in round 5 of SlaneyCC’s Davidstown league on Wednesday evening after sprinting clear of the rest of the field (watch the video: https://youtu.be/y6Vj8moXVCU). A hat tip to Gerry and Greg also for getting placed, well done all.

SlaneyCC league Novice Results:

  1. Tom Purcell – Gorey CC
  2. Nigel McCord – Racing 795
  3. Robert Webster – Slaney CC
  4. Gerry Hanratty – Gorey CC
  5. Brian Sugrue – SERC
  6. Greg Penney – Gorey CC

Thursday evening was round 4 of Slipstream’s league on the usual Inch circuit. The A3/A2/A1 saw a very early breakaway develop, but Joe Christian made the good decision to bridge across quickly as the break stayed away for the rest of the race. By all accounts, the pace of the breakaway was “fierce”. At the finish he out sprinted all by an impressive margin to take the win.

SlipstreamCC league A3/A2/A1 Results:

  1. Joe Christian – Gorey CC
  2. Denis McCarthy – Slipstream CC
  3. Liam Cullen – Barrow Wheelers
  4. Shane Kelly – Wexford Wheelers
  5. Dermot Gregan – Slipstream CC

The A4’s were up next and Brendan Dunne made it 2 in a row as he battled a very strong, on form SERC contingent and put in a powerful sprint finish to take the win in the A4 league race. He was run all the way to the line by SERC’s Ciaran Furlong in 2nd.

SlipstreamCC league A4 Results:

  1. Brendan Dunne – GoreyCC
  2. Ciaran Furlong – SERC
  3. John Canavan – SERC
  4. Derek White – Barrow Wheelers
  5. Brian Sugrue – SERC

Thanks again to Sean Rowe for the excellent photos.

Tom Purcell takes the win in the SlaneyCC Davidstown league Novice race

Joe Christian winning round 4 of Slipstream’s A3/A2/A1 league race

Brendan Dunne sprinting to the win in Slipstram’s A4 league race