Tag: Irish National Championships

Irish National Hill Climb Results

Elite Race

1 Mark Dowling Asea Wheelworx 03:59.89
2 Lindsay Watson Plush MTB 04:06.94
3 Conor Kissane Killarney Cycling Club 04:16.89
4 Marcin Mizgajski Rossbury Racing 04:17.45
5 Ryan Sherlock Un-Attached Leinster 04:17.74
6 Mike Millar 04:31.78
7 James Davenport Dunboyne Cycling Club 04:32.62
8 Ross Collins UCD Cycling Club 04:38.28
9 Richard Barry St. Finbarrs CC 04:41.16
10 Andrew Maguire Rossbury Racing 04:43.53
11 Michael Fitzgerald STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 04:48.10
12 Brendan Dunne Gorey Cycling Club 05:15.58
13 Robert Farrell Lucan Cycling Road Club 05:18.27
14 Sam Gilmore Arcane Cycling Team 05:24.03
15 John O’Regan St. Tiernans Cycling Club 05:29.24
16 Bob Hall Clondalkin CC 05:42.61
17 Ciara Kinch Scott – Orwell Wheelers 05:46.78
18 Kenny Bucke Team RAD 05:56.53

Masters 40 Race

1 Dermot Radford Tipp Wheelers 04:20.80
2 John Lee Trim Cycling Club 04:26.82
3 Frank Billings Lucan Cycling Road Club 04:37.52
4 Jerry McCarthy Tralee Manor West iBike 04:44.32
5 Frank Dunne STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 04:51.11
6 David Walsh STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team 05:00.55
7 Brendan Corcoran Lucan Cycling Road Club 05:02.77
8 Valerio Di Bacco Galway Bay CC 05:10.03
9 Marcus Dowling St. Tiernans Cycling Club 05:10.46
10 John Caffrey Lucan Cycling Road Club 05:13.30
11 Wayne Byrne South-East Road Club 05:14.44
12 Keith Hughes Un-Attached Leinster 05:15.90
13 William Barclay Xmtb McConvey Cycles 05:16.01
14 Martin Gill 05:23.06
15 Paul English Bohermeen CC 05:28.66
16 Gerry Byrne Barrow Wheelers 05:31.76
17 Jamie Busher Scott – Orwell Wheelers 05:32.74
18 Nigel Allen Wexford Wheelers 05:33.78
19 Jason Howick Bray Wheelers M40 05:40.71
20 Mark Dillon Clondalkin CC M40 05:56.61

Masters 50 Race

1 John Madden Inspired Cycling 04:39.80
2 Aj Murphy Midleton CTC 04:47.68
3 Mark Murphy Bray Wheelers 04:57.14
4 Micheal Corkery De Ronde Van Cork CC 05:11.20
5 Paul Bolger Slaney Cycling Club 05:15.00
6 Jimmy Treacy Raparee Cycle Club 05:25.17
7 Patrick Bergin North Tipperary Wheelers 05:27.70
8 Kevin Cronin Bree Mountain Biking 05:43.34
9 John Kissane Killarney Cycling Club 05:53.02
10 Paul Gammell Southside Wheely Wheelers 05:55.04

Masters 60 Race

1 Sean Hargan Phoenix CC 05:40.15
2 Sean McIlroy Panduit Carrick Wheelers 06:04.96
3 Dominic Drumm Bann Wheelers CC 06:11.43
4 Patrick Whitney Slaney Cycling Club 08:22.88
5 Joe Grennell Arcane Cycling Team 08:33.90
6 Denis Toomey Tandem Cycling Ireland N/S

Junior Race

1 Eoin Byrne Scott–Orwell Wheelers 04:26.82
2 Conor Leech Clonard RC 04:42.54
3 Cian Keogh South-East Road Club 05:21.57
4 Andre Grennell Arcane Cycling Team 05:37.79

Irish National Hill Climb Championships 2016

**Entry is now closed**

Start List Available Here

The National Hill Climb Championships 2016 held by Gorey Cycling Club are due to take place in Ballyfad Co. Wexford on Saturday 22nd October.

Course Details: Distance 1.7km or 1 mile


Sign-on: from 12.30pm at Ballyfad Hall, beside Ballyfad National School (directions below)
Start time: 2.00pm
Entry fee: €20 – online registration is now closed

National Championship medals are only awarded to the 4 events below. There are no separate medals for Juniors or Women as they take part in the main event. There are no medals for best team. If minimum entry requirements are not met the event will not be run.

Championship Events:

National Hill Climb Championship – open to Junior, Senior and Women – minimum 12 entries
National M40 Hill Climb Championship – open to M40 riders only – minimum 12 entries
National M50 Hill Climb Championship – open to M50 riders only – minimum 6 entries
National M60 Hill Climb Championship – open to M60 riders only – minimum 6 entries

Licences accepted are A+, A1, A2, A3, A4, LC, JR.
One Day Licences are not available for this event

National Championship Skinsuits will be ordered for the winners after the event

Directions to Sign on:
Travelling on the M11, exit at junction 22 (Gorey North).
At Tinnock Roundabout, take the 2nd exit onto R772 (Sign for Inch) and continue for 3.8km.
In Inch village turn left onto L1004 (for Coolgreany) and continue for 2.5km.
Continue onto Main St. Coolgreany for 260m and turn left at The Coolgreany Inn (top of Main St.).
Continue for 2.4km until you reach Ballyfad with church and school (sign on location) on the left


Joe finishes 8th in the Nationals

Well done to Joe Christian on his great performance in Saturday’s Masters’ 40 Irish National Road Race Championship in Omagh. There were 3 Masters titles up for grabs on Saturday with over 200 riders competing. The Masters 40 had the largest field with 126 riders and some of the biggest names in Irish Cycling.

Joe finished 8th overall in a bunch sprint finish of what was a very fast and competitive race. Several breaks containing many of the big names were quickly closed down by the chasing bunch, giving some indication of the frantic pace. Joe has been showing some great form lately with recent wins in the Christy McManus Memorial and the SERC league. Chapeau!

Full Results here

Joe Christian at the front during the Masters’ 40 Irish National Championship Road Race, Saturday 27th June 2015